Government affairs

Legislative Updates

A board of ‘governor’

In case you missed it, the Postal Service Board of Governors is down to one member, James Bilbray. The lone governor remains as the terms of Louis Giuliano and Ellen Williams expired on Dec. 9, leaving Bilbray the only advisor to Postmaster General Megan Brennan and Deputy Postmaster General Ronald Stroman.

Currently, a package of five nominees is unable to advance in the Senate due to objections over the two of the nominees in particular: former governors James Miller and Mickey Barnett, both of whose backgrounds and motivations have been a source of worry for postal employees.

The remaining three nominees—Michael Bennett, Steven Crawford and David Sharpira—also remain in nomination limbo, since Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) insists on advancing the nominees as a single package, otherwise known as “en-bloc.”

Check back in the new year to find out whether the Senate and the Obama Administration are able to find a solution to the “Board of Governor” situation, a solution that would once again provide the body the quorum it needs to function properly.

Return to Legislative Updates


The free NALC apps for smartphones provide convenient access to tools and information about issues affecting active and retired letter carriers. Information on downloading and using the apps is in our apps section.