Government affairs

Contact / about

NALC members are welcome to contact the department for assistance with:

To reach the department, please call 202-662-2833. If you wish to contact a specific member of the Department of Legislative and Political Affairs, see below.

Meet our staff

Kori Blalock Keller, Chief of Staff

In March 2014, Kori Blalock Keller was hired as the Department of Legislative and Political Affairs’ legislative director and as political advisor to NALC’s president. Prior to coming to work for NALC, Keller worked for 10 years for a transportation union as its spokesperson for communications and legislative affairs. Since coming to NALC, Keller has helped fend off the repeated legislative attacks on letter carrier jobs while promoting the need for real postal reform that will allow the U.S. Postal Service to innovate and grow. As the director of the department, Keller oversees its staff and also sets NALC’s legislative, political and grassroots priorities. She became chief of staff in Dec. 2022.

Brent FjerestadAssistant to the President for Legislative & Political Organizing 

Fjerestad is a member of Sioux Falls, SD Branch 491. He has served his branch in a number of capacities, including vice president, trustee and shop steward. He was also president of the South Dakota State Association of Letter Carriers from 2009-2017. He works with states in the central part of the country.

John Beaumont, Legislative and Political Organizer, Regions 1, 2 & 4 (AZ, CO, WY)

Beaumont, a member of San Francisco Branch 214, has served as president of the California State Association of Letter Carriers. He has supported multiple campaigns, most recently serving as NALC’s lead for the 2016 get-out-the-vote efforts in Nevada, and he will continue to work with several Western states.

Matt Tanner, Legislative and Political Organizer, Regions 3, 4 (AR & OK), 6 & 8

Tanner, a member of Lansing, MI Branch 122, has served his branch as an alternate steward, steward, food drive coordinator, secretary, vice president and president. He graduated from the Leadership Academy in 2014,

Anthoney Mitchell, Legislative and Political Organizer, Regions 5, 7 & 10

Mitchell served Independence, MO Branch 827 as a steward, e-Activist coordinator, sergeant-at-arms, and president before transferring to Kansas City, MO Branch 30 in 2012. He has held several positions with the Missouri State Association of Letter Carriers and served as an LPO assistant and community service assistant at NALC Headquarters. 

Eileen Ford, Legislative and Political Organizer, Regions 9 & 13

Ford is a member of Roswell, GA Branch 4862. She began working as a PTF in Roswell in 1996. After serving as a trustee, branch secretary, treasurer, steward and vice president for her branch, she took office as branch president in 2015. She has also served the union as a letter carrier congressional liaison (LCCL), city carrier assistant (CCA) organizer, local business agent, route adjustment district lead, Georgia state food drive coordinator and state executive board member. Ford graduated from the Leadership Academy in 2014.

Marc T. Ashmon, Legislative and Political Organizer, 11, 12, 14 & 15

A second-generation postal worker, Ashmon began working as a letter carrier in Linden, NJ, as a part-time flexible (PTF) in 1995 and joined Linden Branch 2876. He was elected branch trustee in 1999, branch vice president in 2003 and branch president in 2011, a position he held until his appointment as LPO. Ashmon graduated from the Leadership Academy in 2013. He also has served NALC in other ways, including on the route evaluation and adjustment team and as New Jersey state food drive coordinator.


State association presidents

Alabama: Antonia Shields
Alaska: Christopher Crutchfield
Arizona: Jeff Clark
Arkansas: Barry Bode
California: Harold Kelso
Colorado: Doug Jaynes
Connecticut: AnthonyDeMatteo, Jr.
Delaware: Bob Wilkerson
Florida: Albert Friedman
Georgia: Don Griggs
Hawaii: Michelle Hee
Idaho: Matthew Parkin
Illinois: John Cooksey
Indiana: John Triplett
Iowa: Herb Copley
Kansas: Andy Tuttle
Kentucky: Bob McNulty
Louisiana: Troy Scott
Maine: Mark Seitz
Maryland/DC: Doreen Cater
Massachusetts: Scott Doughty
Michigan: Carl Blassingame
Minnesota: Perry Schmidt
Mississippi: Keisha Bryant
Missouri: Kevin Holmes
Montana: Julie Quilliam
Nebraska: Jeremy Liebsack
Nevada: Mickey Grizzle
New Hampshire: Terry Gesel
New Jersey: Richard O’Connell, Jr. 
New Mexico: Marie Montano
New York: George Mangold
North Caroline: Craig Schadewald
North Dakota: Rachel Freehauf
Ohio: John Dyce
Oklahoma: John Wofford
Oregon: Willie Groshell
Pennsylvania: Paul Rozzi
Rhode Island: Evan Cohen
South Carolina: Michael Hamilton
South Dakota: Rick Engle
Tennessee: Laurie McLemore
Texas: Carlos Rodriguez
Utah: Phil Rodriquez
Vermont: Eric Spencer
Virginia: Thelma Hunt
Washington: Brian Wiggins
West Virginia: Joe Paden
Wisconsin: Bonnie Alsup
Wyoming: Rene Eberhardt

Learn more about your congressional representatives

Click here to get contact information for your representatives in the House and Senate, and to find out where they stand on NALC’s legislative priorities.


The free NALC apps for smartphones provide convenient access to tools and information about issues affecting active and retired letter carriers. Information on downloading and using the apps is in our apps section.