Government affairs

Legislative Updates

Senate HSGAC announces members

Today, the Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Government Affairs (HSGAC) announced its membership for the 116th Congress. Led by Sen. Ron Johnson (R-WI) and Ranking Member Gary Peters (D-MI), the committee will include members carried over from the 115th Congress as well as a number of freshmen.

HSGAC is the Senate’s primary oversight committee that has jurisdiction over the Department of Homeland Security specifically, and more generally government operations, federal employees, intergovernmental relations, the municipal affairs of the District of Columbia, and more. As letter carriers know, the committee also has jurisdiction over the U.S. Postal Service.

The full list of committee members is as below:

Ron Johnson (R-WI) – Chairman

Gary Peters (D-MI) – Ranking Member

Rob Portman (R-OH)

Tom Carper (D-DE)

Michael B. Enzi (R-WY)

Maggie Hassan (D-NH)

Rand Paul (R-KY)

Kamala Harris (D-CA)

James Lankford (R-OK)

Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ)

Mitt Romney (R-UT)

Jacky Rosen (D-NV)

Rick Scott (R-FL)


Josh Hawley (R-MO)



Should there be any changes to this list of members, NALC will be sure to keep letter carriers informed.

Return to Legislative Updates


The free NALC apps for smartphones provide convenient access to tools and information about issues affecting active and retired letter carriers. Information on downloading and using the apps is in our apps section.