Government affairs

Legislative Updates

House OR Committee announces subcommittee membership

Today, the House Committee on Oversight and Reform (OR) Chairman Elijah Cummings (D-MD) and Ranking Member Jim Jordan (R-OH) announced the members that will serve on its subcommittees in the 116th Congress.

Of primary concern to NALC, the Subcommittee on Government Operations oversees government management, government reorganization, intergovernmental affairs, and federal government agencies, departments, including the U.S. Postal Service (USPS).


Government Operations Subcommittee

Elijah Cummings (D-MD) – Chairman, ex officio

Jim Jordan (R-OH) – Ranking Member, ex officio

Gerald E. Connolly (D-VA) – Chairman

Mark Meadows (R-NC) – Ranking Member

Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC)

Thomas Massie (R-KY)

Brenda L. Lawrence (D-MI)

Jody B. Hice (R-GA)

Jamie Raskin (D-MD)

Glenn Grothman (R-WI)

John P. Sarbanes (D-MD)

Ralph Norman (R-SC)

Jackie Speier (D-CA)

James Comer (R-KY)

Stephen F. Lynch (D-MA)

W. Gregory Steube (R-FL)

Ro Khanna (D-CA)


Stacey E. Plaskett (D-VI)



Compared to the 115th Congress, Subcommittee leadership remains the same, only with Reps. Connolly and Meadows swapping titles.

The sole freshman member of the Subcommittee is Rep. Steube who previously served as a member of the Florida House of Representatives and then as a member of the Florida Senate. He won election for the seat vacated by former Rep. Tom Rooney (R-FL) who retired at the end of the 115th Congress.

A list of full committee membership may be found here.

Return to Legislative Updates


The free NALC apps for smartphones provide convenient access to tools and information about issues affecting active and retired letter carriers. Information on downloading and using the apps is in our apps section.